Tags

,

A while back I posted about the importance of recognizing one’s state in life and attempting to sanctify the mundane moments and tasks.  (You can read that here if you are so inclined.)  Recently, I had an a-ha moment regarding my own spirituality while I was, oddly enough, staring at a sink full of dirty dishes.

It was the end of a particularly long day that had started well before daybreak with children arguing over who should be able to sleep where in my bed, and had included a nature walk in the park (in the heat that was more intense that we realized as we set out), noon Mass, a surprise lunch with the cousins, voting (go Sabrin!), and all the various and sundry tasks that go along with raising a family.  We even managed to squeeze in some play time and some schoolwork.  And so it was that, after dinner, when all I wanted to do was collapse on the couch and wait for bedtime, I found myself standing in front of my kitchen sink.  It was, for all intents and purposes, full.   There we extra cups from lunchtime, bowls and soggy Cheerios from breakfast, plates from two days worth of dinners, and practically every piece of silverware I own.  The very sight of it made me more exhausted than I already was.  The last thing I wanted to do was to stand at the sink, in the heat, and scrub melted cheese off of plates.  I seriously thought about just ignoring it, but then I remember that ignoring it won’t make it go away.  It won’t make them magically clean. There is no dish fairy who will sneak in to my kitchen while I sleep and make my bowls sparkle and my spoons shine.  If I want them to be clean I have to put in the work to clean them.  It may make me tired, but in the end it will be worth it because I’ll have an empty sink, full cabinets, and a feeling a accomplishment for having fulfilled my vocation as homemaker.

That’s when it hit me.  It’s the same with sin.  Ignoring a sin won’t make it go away.  Pretending a vice isn’t there does nothing to make that vice disappear.  No, the way to work against a sin is to work.  Face the vice, see from where it stems in your life and try to curb it.  Frequent the Sacraments, not just Confession but the Eucharist as well.  Make use of the tools the Church provides you with to fight against temptation to wrong behavior.  Put in the work and you will most likely see results in your spiritual [and eventually your physical] life.  Ignore the sin and it will not go away.  What’s worse, unlike those dishes, which will eventually top out (we only have so many plates, cups, etc.), sin can grow and grow.

Click over to Truth and Charity for more content by more authors.

