Tags

, , ,

My kids are pretty good kids, for the most part.  They are generally obedient, usually kind and honest, and generally pleasant.  They pay attention when I try to teach them about our faith too.  They really try.  But sometimes, one or two things just don’t click.  Like Lent.  When the Superhero was younger, he seriously tried to tell me that he was giving up schoolwork for Lent. I seriously did a facepalm.  That’s when I instituted this list.

Things My Kids Can’t Give Up for Lent:

  1. Schoolwork.  Duh.  You’re doing it.  You’re doing it for at least 12 years or so.  Just deal with it and move on.
  2. Cleaning.  Yes, you still have to pick up your toys and put your dirty laundry in the hamper.
  3. Baths.  Just, no.
  4. The Rosary.  Seriously?  We pray it every night when it’s Ordinary time.  What would make you think we wouldn’t be saying it during Lent?
  5. Reading.  See #1 only replace the “12 years” with “the rest of your life.”

Bonus: Each other.  No, you can’t give up interacting with each other in a small apartment, where we are trapped, because of the ridiculous cold.  If I can’t escape it, neither can you.

And that’s my general guide for helping the kidlets figure out what they should give up for Lent.  If you have anything else to add to the list, please, share.

