Tags

, , , , ,

In your charity, would you please remember my brother in your prayers?  Some of you may read his blog, Harvey Millican, and so you may know what’s going on with him.  Even if you don’t though (but I highly recommend doing so; he shares the family penchant for silliness), I’m asking for your prayers as members of our family in Christ.  Here’s the situation:

When I was still in college, Harvey developed degenerative disc syndrome, which means the discs in his spine are, basically, degenerating.  He had to have a spinal fusion surgery back then, and he’s been OK (not amazing, mind you, but OK) since then.  When I say OK I mean functional.  He wasn’t constantly in pain (only sometimes) and he was able to live his life without it interfering for the most part.  And then, last year some time, it started again.  The pain, the soreness, the struggle to get through a day without being in agony.  I can’t even imagine how bad it must be, and I’m no stranger to agony (am I right?).

Finally, today, he is scheduled for a second spinal fusion.  It’s not exactly the same as the last time, in that it’s been over 10 years and they’re come a long way (baby) in their techniques.  Even though I know he’s scared, we also know it’s for the best and give him at least a chance of having another “normal” 10 years before it starts all over again.  See, the thing about degenerative disc is that the degeneration doesn’t ever really stop.

And so, I’m asking all of you, dear friends in the blogosphere, to please join us in prayer for a safe surgery and a speedy recovery.  I know you will, and I’m going to go ahead and thank you in advance for your kindness.

