Tags

, , , ,

If you don’t knit, you may as well just walk away now.  This post is all about cables and yarn lust.

It happens all the time.  Each time I say it won’t happen again, but it always does.  I decide to make something for someone, something completely seasonally appropriate and with plenty of time with which to complete the project, and then, somehow, time slips away from me and it’s three weeks after the birthday or the holiday and whatever I’ve made is still sitting in a heap inside my yarn bag.

Take for example this:

I think it turned out quite nicely.

I think it turned out quite nicely.

It’s a birthday present for one of my brothers. (And this isn’t my worst offense by far.  I still have a mostly finished hat I started for a sister over a year ago, but I digress.)

Isn’t it lovely?  It’s super soft and a nice rust color.   The pattern is very basic (and can be found here: Raising a Yarn Store), so if you’re looking for a way to try out cables, this one screams “go for it.”  Seriously.  If you knit and haven’t tried cables, why the hell not?  Grab cable needle and get started.

And, I only made one teeny tiny little mistake that if I hadn't chosen to highlight here no one would have noticed (I think).

And, I only made one teeny tiny little mistake that if I hadn’t chosen to highlight here no one would have noticed (I think).

Now, back to this scarf.  I do actually have real, valid, honest-to-goodness reasons as to why I haven’t handed it over yet: blocking.  Yeah, it gets me every time.  Actually, it doesn’t.  I usually just ignore it and figured it looks good enough as is.  With this scarf though that’s not really an option.  See, the reason cables are so nice and warm is that they bunch up the fabric, serving the dual purpose to it nice and thick, and also full of little nooks and crannies that hold in warm air.  Unfortunately, this one has bunched up too much for my taste, and it’s making the whole thing looks a little too feminine right now.  So, I will block it.  I will.  I promise.  For realsies.

The piece on the left is how it all looks right now, pre-blocking.  The piece on the right I've stretched out a bit to show more of what it will look like when it's been blocked.  Blocking, btw, is when one soaks a handmade  yarn item, such as a sweater or a scarf, and then shapes it correctly, according to a schematic or the like and then pins it to something to keep it that way while it dries.  When dry, the item should be the proper shape and size.

The piece on the left is how it all looks right now, pre-blocking. The piece on the right I’ve stretched out a bit to show more of what it will look like when it’s been blocked. Blocking, btw, is when one soaks a handmade yarn item, such as a sweater or a scarf, and then shapes it correctly, according to a schematic or the like and then pins it to something to keep it that way while it dries. When dry, the item should be the proper shape and size.

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I hope it stays cold for another couple of weeks just so my brother can get some use out of it before it’s too warm for a scarf.

