Tags

, ,

Do you ever see those book lists, on Facebook and the like?  The ones that ask you to list your top 10 books?  Yeah, as if that’s possible.  I have a top 20 for damn near every genre I read.  What can I say?  I like books, and I like reading (and no those are not the same things).

Recently, I found this on Simcha Fischer’s blog, I Have to Sit Down.  It’s from the Darwin Catholic, and it is, as they say, far more revealing about you than a well thought out and edited list of your favorites.  So, shall we?

1. What book are you reading now?

I consider myself a reading ninja.  I get most of my grown up reading done on the sly, when the kids aren’t looking, or when they least expect it.  Because of this, I have books stashed all over the apartment, in my car, and in yarn bag.  And yes, in the bathroom.  There, I said it.  I’m a closet bathroom reader (not a bathroom closet reader, since I don’t have one of those, but if I did, I’d have books stashed there too).

  • Quo Vadis by Henryk Sienkiewicz. I had been meaning to read this since college and finally started it shortly after I graduated, only to be forced into throwing the book across my bedroom in a fit of rage when, halfway through the book, I found that it was a bad copy.  Seriously.  The damn thing was missing a giant chunk of pages and those missing pages were replaced with a duplicate of the same number of previous pages, if that makes sense.  I finally picked it up again, for free, on the Nook (thank you Project Gutenberg!), about 4 months ago.  I’m only about halfway through it, but it is good, and it’s my husband’s Nook, so I don’t have access to it all the time.
  • Cry, the Beloved Country by Alan Paton. While this book seems interesting, I’m only in the first chapter.  Also, I’m only reading it because, in a homeschooling family, you never actually get out of school.  I’m 33 and I’m reading this book now so that I can help my teenage niece understand it for her Sophomore English class.
  • Star Trek: Voyager – Pathways by Jeri Taylor. Shut. Up. Just, just up.  I am a Trekker.  I love Star Trek, the real stuff, as in everything before those ridiculous recent movies (I mean, except  Enterprise, because, really?).  It’s fun and entertaining, even if it isn’t deep.  Sometimes, when you’re hiding in the bathroom from the small army of lunatics that you helped create, you just want a cheap beach read.
  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum.  This is what I’m currently reading to the boys at night, after the Rosary.  It’s entertaining, and bit darker than I expected, especially with Baum’s insistence in his introduction that this tale is not for morality at all, but solely to entertain.  Oh yeah?  Tell that to my kids who are in awe of how the Tin Woodman persevered as that magic ax CHOPPED OFF ALL OF HIS LIMBS AND SPLIT HIM IN TWO.  Yeah.
  • Voyage to Alpha Centauri by Michael O’Brien.  More sci-fi, but from what I understand, sci-fi with a Catholic bent.  I’m reviewing it, which is kinda hard to do when it’s 500-some pages (I think) and while reading 5 other books and raising 6 kids, but I’m getting there.  What I’ve read so far is intriguing and eerily prophetic.

2. What book did you just finish?

  • Hans Christian Andersen Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Andersen. Again, read this to the kids at night.  He’s always been one of my favorites, and I really wanted them to get to know the real stories (you know, the ones with actual consequences for actions?) and not just the Disneyfied versions.  They loved it.
  • I know I finished something else within the last few months, and it was really good too, but I’m suffering from a serious case of mom brain right now and can’t remember.  Don’t you just hate that?  Seriously.  It’ll come to me, and I’ll post it in the comments.

3. What do you plan to read next?

  • The Cross and the Beatitudes by Bl. Fulton J. Sheen. It’s a short little book, and it’s perfect for Lent.  Unfortunately, it also fits in with the next question, because I’ve started it twice before and I keep meaning to finish it.  Maybe the third time will actually be the charm?
  • The Princess and the Curdie by George MacDonald. I love Lewis, and Lewis loved MacDonald, so I’m going to take a leap of faith here and guess that I might love MacDonald too.  Here’s hoping the kids love him, because I’m reading it to them.

4. What book do you keep meaning to finish?

  • See question 3.

5. What book do you keep meaning to start?

  • Something Holy and worthwhile, but I honestly don’t have anything specific in mind.
  • Oh wait, I thought of one.  Kristin Lavrensdatter by Sigrid Undset.  I’ve heard it’s amazing but I can’t seem to get my hands on a copy.

6. What is your current reading trend?

  • Right now, I’m just trying to keep reading.  My trend is to not give up on reading, since, as enjoyable as it is, it’s so much easier not to.  Really.  I love reading, always have.  I love the feel of a book in my hand, the smell of the pages.  I’m even warming up to the convenience of the e-reader.  But, with 6 kids, a home to run, dishes to wash, clothing to fold, and oh yes, homeschooling to be completed, I have to grab what I can get in whatever way I can.  If that means reading 5 pages of Star Trek in the bathroom before the kids interrupt, or taking pleasure in the classics I’m reading to the said children, I’ll take it.  So I guess that’s my trend: reading whatever strikes me and holds my interest enough that I’ll ignore my kids for 10 minutes at a time.  There, I said it.

I did it.  Now you share.

