Tags

, , ,

This week, I’ve lost not an ounce nor a 10th of an inch and I couldn’t be happier about it.  This is not because I’ve suddenly given up on my goals or gone cray-cray.  It’s because I feel like I’ve dodged a bullet.

All last week I did not a single bit of exercise.  If I was bad when I was on vacation, only doing Zumba twice, then I was absolutely terrible this past week.  I didn’t do a single step.  There was no shaking of any shoulders anywhere near here.  For whatever reason, I just couldn’t find the time.  I’d go to bed thinking to myself that in the morning I would jump out of bed (well, get up quicker than usual; for 32 I feel really old in the mornings), throw on my workout clothes so I’d be ready for my workout, and then get moving.  Well, every morning I did get up and run (well, hobble; again, the morning thing) through my routine of filling cups and doling out bowls of breakfast, of giving the baby her bottle and feeding her some applesauce and oatmeal.  After this, I’d get the Shield Maiden into her crib for nap time and then, well, then, I’d lose focus and start doing the million other things that have needed doing all summer.  I’d listen to the boys’ reading, I’d fold baskets of towels and sheets, I’d wash the dishes.  Yesterday, I spent the morning making about a half a months supply of baby food.  See, I wasn’t being unproductive, so I let myself think it was OK that I also wasn’t working out.  Unfortunately, if I don’t just suck it up and do that first, it doesn’t get done.  At all.  All. Day. Long.

When I stepped on the Balance Board and realized that I was exactly the same weight as last week, I was thrilled, nay, ecstatic.  This week, I need to knuckle down and work my hardest to get down that last pound to bring me under the 180 mark.  No, this isn’t my final goal, but it is a huge bench mark for me.  And, as the school year draws closer, I know that my priorities will have to shift back to school and a stricter schedule, which doesn’t leave much wiggle room for working out.  While the baby is sleeping, usually a prime time for Zumba, I’ll have to be at the table (or on the couch, or in the courtyard; whatever) with the older kids, reading and learning.  Zumba will be put on the back burner for the first month or so, at least until I get into the groove of the new schedule.  Then, if I can find the time to squeeze it in, I’ll get back at it.  Otherwise, I’ll have to find something new I can do with the kids, like taking a walk or just playing outside.  It won’t be easy, but after losing 14 pounds so far, I can’t just stop and give up, beaten by a scheduling conflict.

I’ll figure it out.  Right?

——

Current Weight: 180.8 (same)
Current Waist: 37.5″ (same)

