Tags

, , , , ,

This week’s edition covers the last two weeks, since I missed last week’s as I didn’t get home from our “vacation” until about midnight on Thursday.

~Pretty~

On our way home from the IHM conference in Tarrytown, NY, my sister and I caught some beautiful views of the sunset.  I happen to love the juxtaposition of hard, man-made steel against the backdrop of something as visually soft as the sky and the clouds.  It’s one of my favorite things. No, for reals.  Stop laughing.

Tappan Zeeeeeeeeee!

Tappan Zeeeeeeeeee!

My view.  Luckily, I wasn't driving.

My view. Luckily, I wasn’t driving.

We’re a “large” family on a small budget (like one part-time paycheck small), so we don’t vacation often.  I mean, we generally do some free stuff every summer, like the free movies at the local theater and the crafting and games at the library.  This year though has been slow even by our standards.  Most of our usual activities take place in the morning, and well, the Green Machine is at work with the Husband until after 11 AM everyday.  Plus, with the Shield Maiden on a two nap a day schedule, we have to stay home every morning, until around 11 anyway.  Suffice it to say, it’s been a pretty boring summer (I mean, besides the whole we have an awesome infant and life doesn’t get much better than that thing).

I decided something had to be done.  Something drastic.  So we went to: Pennsylvania.  Believe me, for us, this is drastic.

Seriously though, my sister and her family live in Harrisburg, near Hershey, and they, aside from being so much fun, and aside from them having just about the sweetest, most helpful group of teenagers you’d ever want to meet, they have a pool.  A big, fun, lovely pool.  It was on like Donkey Kong.  A good time was had by all.

~Happy~

He loves his baby sister.

He loves his baby sister.  I don’t think an hour goes by from sun up til sun down when this boys doesn’t try to make her laugh.

She's like a fish.  Seriously.  She would be happiest if I just let her live in the pool.

She’s like a fish. Seriously. She would be happiest if I just let her live in the pool.

How can one not be happy at Chocolate World?

How can one not be happy at Chocolate World?

~Funny~

Mid-throw.  David is the literal "boy next door" who is practically family.  Here, he demonstrates his mad people throwing skillz.

Mid-throw. David is the literal “boy next door” who is practically family. Here, he demonstrates his mad people throwing skillz.

"Baby has a cup on her head. Baby has a cup on her head.  Baby has a cup on her head, and she keeps it there...just long enough to get this adorable picture!"

“Baby has a cup on her head. Baby has a cup on her head. Baby has a cup on her head, and she keeps it there…just long enough to get this adorable picture!”

The Chatterbox gave the poor cats a run for their money.  She insists they were playing hide-and-go-seek together.  She further insists that the kitty said, "Meow!  Now it's your turn to hide!" to her. :)

The Chatterbox gave the poor cats a run for their money. She insists they were playing hide-and-go-seek together. She further insists that the kitty said, “Meow! Now it’s your turn to hide!” to her. This is her “finding” the cat.  Poor thing; couldn’t find a good enough hiding space and was found every single time.  The cat, I mean.

~Real~

Shield Maiden managed to outgrow her pjs.  Both feet had huge holes halfway through our trip.  There's not much sweeter than baby toes sticking out through their footie pajamas.

Shield Maiden managed to outgrow her pjs. Both feet had huge holes halfway through our trip. There’s not much sweeter than baby toes sticking out through their footie pajamas.

Tired. Out.

Tired. Out.  Probably from all that hide-and-go-seek.

Taking the plunge.

Taking the plunge.

Like his big brother

Like his big brother

Some things I’m noticing right now.  Several of sister’s kids are just a bit camera shy.  I think I only have two of them (three counting the pink swimsuited rear end) in my photos.  I must work on this.

—–

Shared at Like Mother, Like Daughter.

