Tags

, , ,

It’s hot as hell here in the Northeast.  Yeah, I know it is hotter in other areas of our fine land on a regular basis, but not here.  Most of the the time in the Summer, we have great weather.  It’s hot, but not so hot that it’s oppressive.  And then, for one or two weeks out of each year, we get a heatwave.  It’s not terrible by some standards, but how temperature feels is all relative, isn’t it?  We’re not used to highs in the high 90s, so when we get them, it feels like the whole world stops (like Virginia, with a snow “storm” of three inches).  I know, I’m being a bit dramatic over here, but to quote the Waspy mother in  Fools Rush In“The white people are melting.”  Suffice it to say that it’s been a little difficult getting really into my workouts in this heat.

That being said, I did it.  I may not have gone all out with them, but I stuck with it and kept to my schedule.  I may have been literally dripping with sweat at the end of each, but I did it.  And, I probably didn’t kick up my heels quite as high or shimmy my hips quite as fast as I’m supposed to, but at least I did kick and I did shimmy, right?  Well, yes and no.  According to my scale, nothing changed.  I’m still at the same 183 as last week.  Once again though, the tape measure is my friend.  According to it, I lost another half an inch off of my waist.  So, while I may not have done my best, what I did was enough to do something.

Just like the heat, effort and loss are all relative.  The effort I put forth during this last week’s workouts may not have been as great as my norm, but it was everything I could do given the circumstances.  I may not have lost any weight, but I did lose (and of course, keeping with the idea of relativism, I gained as well).  A 37.5″ waist might be huge to some, but to me, it’s smaller than I’ve seen in over eight years of childbearing.  I’m within striking distance of my waistline before I got pregnant with the Scientist, and it feels amazing.  It’s all relative.

Now, if only I could get my hips, thighs, calves, and arms to start shrinking, I’d be great. 🙂

——-

Current Weight: 183 lbs (no change)
Current Waist: 37.5″ (down half an inch)

