Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been following along with Not Super, Just Mom’s little “State of the Weight” series via Instagram mostly, and was so happy when she posted that she was currently almost back down to the weight she was when she became pregnant with her baby.  Go Miranda!

It got me thinking that maybe I should share a little bit about my own weight state, as it’s something that’s been on my mind a lot lately.  The Husband hates when I say this, but I say it anyway: I’m huge.  For me, at least.  I’m only 5′ 3″ and have been hovering at the over 200 lb mark since before the Shield Maiden was born in December.  I had a 10 lb baby and was only down 5 lbs when I stepped on the scale for my one week postpartum check up. I have no idea how I manged it, but manage it I did.  I think my body was trying to tell me something (that, or I was still so pumped full of fluids from my overly-long stint in the maternity ward; could be either, actually, but I’ll go with the whole “I’m huge” thing).

Fast forward to May, and my baby is almost six months old and I’m still almost as huge.  Oh sure, the water weight dissipated as it always does without warning about two and a half weeks after the baby was born.  Other than that, though, I hadn’t really done anything to help the situation, and to make matters worse, I did a great deal to harm it.  For instance: Christmas and Easter.  Hello, my old friends.  I ate so much candy from both of them it’s indecent.  I kept meaning to walk, I kept wanting to pop in those Zumba DVD and get back on the wagon, but nothing actually happened.  I was in a sad state.

Last week, I decided I had had enough of this.  I pulled out our Wii Balance Board (because we don’t own a functioning scale; I know, I should work on that), and stepped on, dreading that this time, she would actually do what my niece and I always claim she does.  I could almost hear her judgmental little “Oh” as I stepped on and waited to be weighed.  Fortunately, she didn’t respond with, “Hitting the ice cream a bit harder than usual this week, Bridget?”  No, she simply told me that I weighed 194.9 lbs.  Still.  I’d been hovering there before I got pregnant this time and was apparently back at it.  I took one look at that screen and decided it had to change.

(On the upside, my Wii Fit Age was only 27, which greatly impressed the kids for some reason.)

What to change though?  I’m still nursing the baby so much as I know calorie reduction is the only surefire way to lose weight, I couldn’t go all out the way I’d like to and get things rolling.  I decided to force myself to consume a safe amount: 1800 calories a day.  The way I see it, if I wanted to lose weight, I’d drop down to 1200-1300 calories a day, at least for the first few weeks.  Well if nursing burns 500 calories a day then I needed to add them back in, so I settled at 1800.

All week long, except Monday, because c’mon, it was Memorial Day and it’s my God-given right as an American to have a burger and ice cream on that day, I stuck to it.  You know what?  I wasn’t even hungry.  I just made sure I was eating smaller portions than usual, and eating more slowly, and snacking on things like apples and carrots instead of cookies.

The results?  I stepped back on that Balance Board today and got a pleasant surprise: 188.3 That’s right, I lost almost 7 pounds.  So yeah, go me!

I don’t have any lofty ambitions or ridiculous goals.  I just want to feel better and, yes, look better, and maybe even stave off diabetes for a little while longer so I can have more children with less complications.  For now, I’m just happy that giving up my sweet treats has made an actual impact.

So stay with me.  Good or bad, I’ll be keeping it updated, every Friday.  Here’s hoping the the support will keep me going.  And if that fails, there’s always the public humiliation thing.

Current Weight: 188.3
Current Waist: 41.5

