Tags

, , , ,

No, it really doesn’t.  But I can’t help it. “The Man from Milwaukee” has been a favorite of mine since I was first surprised by it when it played as the hidden track on Middle of Nowhere (Hanson’s first big album).

A yellow walkie-talkie. :)

A yellow walkie-talkie. 🙂

If you don’t know by that I’m what they call a “Fanson,” I’m not sure what blog you’ve been reading.  I’ve loved those boys and this band since the first time I heard “MmmBop” (which, by the by, was when I was half-asleep, having just woken up on the recliner in the family room where my brother and I had fallen asleep the night before; I looked up just in time to catch a few moments of their video and said, “Good song; ugly girls”).  They’re new single, “Get the Girl Back,” is amazing.  In fact, I’ve never been disappointed by a single album.  Enough about that though.  Back to the topic at hand.

“The Man from Milwaukee” is second only to “I’m Gonna Buy Me a Dog” by the Monkees as the sillyest, most non-sensical, songs I think I’ve ever heard. With some awesome guitar licks (that’s a phrase, right? “guitar licks?”) and some signature Hanson harmonies, you almost don’t realize that the whole song is about a man going insane after being abducted and then returned by aliens.  Yeah.  It’s silly.  And I still know every single word.

Like this part:

He says where he’s from is called Albertane
There they use more than 10% of the brain
But you couldn’t tell it from the way they behave
They run around in underwear and they never shave

Oh yeah.  Pure lyrical genius, right?

It helps to remember that Zac was only about 10 when he wrote it.  Still, it’s fun.  It’s one of those songs that makes me you feel like you’re 16 again, with hardly a care in the world other than memorizing silly songs and wondering how you’ll manage getting tickets and a ride to the next concert.

It’s one of those songs.  And I love it.  And I don’t care who knows.

Fanson pride, people.  Fanson pride.

—-

In response to prompt number 3 in this weeks edition of Mama Kat’s Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Workshop. Head on over and check out the awesomeness.

Mama’s Losin’ It

