Tags

, , , ,

Photo by derekGarvey

Photo by derekGarvey

I write my blog posts at night.  This shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone who knows that I have six littles who run about my home all day, wreaking havoc and causing general noisiness.  It’s just a touch hard to write while children are playing, asking for help getting toys down from the top shelf, or doing all of the other myriad things that need doing with kids.  I know that, in order to be productive in my writing, I need to plan on doing it at night, when there will be fewer distractions.

Fewer.

Somehow, even at night, when the kids are in bed and the apartment is quiet (if you ignore the family upstairs that is apparently nocturnal and simply adores playing bowling with elephants at midnight), I manage to find ways to not write  my blogs posts until long after the time when I should be in bed.  Like right now.  As I write this, it is 11:57 PM.

In case you’re a blogger like me and sometimes like a little distraction from what you should be doing, I give you my list of ways to not write a blog post.

1) Turn on Netflix.  Seriously.  Pop on “just one episode” of The Office and the next thing you know, three hours have passed and you’re only halfway through the second season.

2) Start folding laundry.  Just start it.  No one said anything about finishing it.  Works well in conjunction with the first suggestion.

3) Look for inspiration.  Seriously, reading other people’s actual blog posts is a great way to not write a blog post of your own.

4) Think you hear the kids making noise.  Just sit, very quietly, and listen, very intently, to see if you’re right or just imagining it.  I can usually waste an average of 20 minutes on this one alone.

5) One word: Pinterest.

Follow these five tips and you may never actually write a blog post again.

Come to think of it, probably a good idea to not follow this list.  Like, at all. 🙂

