Tags

, , , ,

In case you didn’t know, I love Pinterest.  I am on there every single day, looking up new ideas, revisiting old ones, and then having a good laugh at some of the stuff I thought I might try one day, when I pinned something or other, at 2 AM, because I had gotten sucked into Pinterest at 10 PM and hadn’t gotten to bed yet.

Oh, hi there.

So, as I was saying, I love it.  Although sometimes, the occasional crazy Pin gets on there, like this and this (as if I’ll ever get around to trying either of those), my Pins are, for the most part, things that at the least look fun and at best useful.

Lately, I’ve been trying to actually put my Pins into action, and have been challenging myself to actually “do” one Pin per week.  I’ve been meaning to blog about it, but, well, this happened:

Kinda hard to get work done when you have this happening, am I right?

Kinda hard to get work done when you have this happening, am I right?

This week though, I have to write about the Pin I tried over the weekend.  Saturday evening came and, once again, I was unprepared other than the vaguest notion that I had potatoes that should be used soon.  I know, I have to get a handle on the dinner thing.  It struck me, around 4 PM, as the the Shield Maiden finally drifted off to sleep for the first time all day, that I had Pinned a bunch of what looked to be great potato recipes (because, well we’re Irish and we LOVE potatoes).  I went a-searching and found this: The Best Baked Oven Fries.  Here’s how it went:

The ingredients are super simple: russet potatoes, vegetable oils, salt, pepper.  Bam.  That’s it.

Ah, the potential

Ah, the potential

Basically, you peel, cut into wedges, and soak the potatoes.  Soaking leeches out some of the starch.  That combined with patting the potatoes dry helps with the crisping factor during the baking.  It’s the main trick to the recipe as far as I’m concerned.

Soak them in hot water for 10-30 minutes.  We did 10 because I was hungry.

Soak them in hot water for 10-30 minutes. We did 10 because I was hungry.

While the potatoes are soaking, you coat a heavy, four-sided baking sheet with oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

After the soaking and drying is done, you then toss the wedges with a little more oil and place them, in a single layer, on the pan.  Cover it tightly with foil and pop the whole thing into a 475 degree oven.  Bake it, covered for about 5 minutes (it took longer in my oven), then bake, uncovered for about 40-50 more minutes, flipping once and turning the pan once or twice to ensure even browning.

Single layer, so that they all get enough "love" from the oven.

Single layer, so that they all get enough “love” from the oven.

We hit them with a little garlic salt when they were warm and fresh out of the oven and that was enough.

If it had only been the Husband and I eating them, I would have considered this Pin a success.  They were crispy, delicious, potatoey goodness.  He was actually a little incredulous when I informed him that they were in fact not fried, but baked.  However, the real reason I’m putting this own down in the “Must Make Again.  Now.” column is that the Scientist, my pickiest eater (he doesn’t eat pasta, at all, in any form; how’s that for picky?) A) actually decided they looked good enough to try, and B) LOVED them.  That’s right.  My picky eater found a new food that he will actually look forward to eating.  Score one for Mom and her Pinterest addiction.

Oh, so nummy nummy cruchy potatoey goodness.

Oh, so nummy nummy cruchy potatoey goodness.

Seriously, you have to try these.

The Verdict: Success!  Go get a bag of potatoes and get crackalacking.

