Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Today is Ash Wednesday, a day that marks the start of Lent, a season of prayer, fasting, and almsgiving.  It also marks the start of two separate challenges/projects that I’ll be participating in.   The first is the Catholic Sistas Lent Instagram (and everywhere else, apparently) Photo Journey.  Check out this post for all the details on this one.  The basics: it’s a photo-a-day challenge based around Lent.  The topic for day one?  What else?  A cross.

I have this cross in two different sizes, both of which were wedding presents.  This one hangs in my living room.

I have this cross in two different sizes, both of which were wedding presents. This one hangs in my living room.

I know, I know.  It’s Ash Wednesday.  Where are the ash crosses?  Well, truth be told, our priest just isn’t that good at it and all of our ashes from noon Mass have basically vanished already, not even six hours later.  Oh well.

On to my next challenge, which is of my own making and which anyone may join if they so choose.

I crochet.

I also knit.

I knit and crochet and make stuff.  A lot.  What I mostly make are little hats and small, wearable, easily made things.  You know what they need in hospital nurseries?  You guessed it: hats.  Lots of them.  Especially in the NICU.  Trust me.  My family knows from personal experience.  It’s comforting to the moms and the babies to have a hand made little hat on baby’s head instead of one of those mass produced things they usually use.

To that end, I plan on making 40 hats in 40 days, and donating them all to our local children’s hospital, St. Joe’s.  All of my children were born there, as well as several of my nieces and nephews.  The hats don’t have to be amazing or adorable (although that always helps), and they don’t even have to be sized perfectly (as everyone’s head is slightly different in size).  They just have to be warm.  Plain acrylic yarn (you know, the cheap stuff?) usually is preferred because the hats are washable.

If you don’t know how to knit or crochet, it’s cool.  But if you do and are looking for something to do for Lent, please join in.  I’ll be sharing my photos on here and probably everywhere else. 🙂  I plan on tagging them #40Hats40Days , you know, in case you wanna join in or just follow along.

