Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes I feel as if there should really be a little bit more warning for liturgical seasons than there is.  Wouldn’t it be great if there was a Catholic Paul Revere who rode up and down the streets, shouting at us about praying, fasting, and giving alms?

Yes, I know there’s a calendar.  Yes, I know there’s a way of figuring out when the non-fixed season of Lent starts based on when Easter is (something about a full moon, right?) and yet somehow, I always allow it to sneak up on me.  This year is no different.

I’ve been planning our Lenten activities for a few weeks now but haven’t managed to nail down any definite plans.  So far, my general idea for the kids is to read more about the lives of the saints, to continue our tradition we started last year of praying the Stations of the Cross, and to encourage them to make some sort of specific and ongoing sacrifice that last throughout the 40 days.  Other than that though, I’m a little stumped.

It’s specifically the almsgiving part that has me at a complete loss yet again. How does one who barely has the money to pay bills and buy groceries manage to scrape together even a few extra pennies to give?  Seriously folks.  If any of you have any ideas of how to make giving meaningful for pennies a day with children, I’d appreciate it.  Obviously, we give at Mass each week, but Lent is supposed to be about giving, doing, more, right?

Oh well, back to the books I go.  By that I mean I’m going to start trolling Pinterest and every single Catholic mom blog I know of to find some more ideas to enrich our Lenten journey.

Remember these?

Remember these?

