Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I know we’re finally out of the Christmas season, but I just realized, when looking through the plethora of pictures I have from the last five weeks while transferring them to my computer, that I forgot to share something I on here that I think is really special.

The Scientist is the Scientist because of his abundant love of knowledge.  He thirsts for it.  He wants to know how things work.  No, not things.  Everything.  He theorizes about what makes birds chirp and why the ocean is blue.  He offers his own explanations as to how stars form and what clouds might feel like.  But, he might just as easily be the Artist.  For as often as he is pondering the construction of the universe, he is also sitting at the kitchen table, marker in hand, making us illustrations to go along with his thoughts.

Just build a loop for the Geotrax trains you say?  Impossible!  First, he needs to draw up a detailed blueprint of it, complete with a city plan, including streets and parks and indications for water and mountains.

Just read a story and talk about it?  No.  He needs to make a multimedia picture of his favorite scene.  Trust me.  I have his summer reading journal from 2012 as proof.  He wrote not a sentence but managed to report of about 50 books using only pictures.

So, it didn’t surprise me when, on Christmas morning as we were on our way out the door for 8:45 AM Mass, he ran back into his bedroom to grab one of his favorite pictures to bring with him.  He told me that, since Christmas is Jesus’ birthday, he wanted to bring Him a birthday card, one of his “holy pictures”.  It was an image of the Sacred and Immaculate Hearts that the Scientist had drawn last year sometime and had been saving for a special occasion.  He folded it carefully and placed it in his breast pocket to be sure he wouldn’t lose or crumple it.

I had all but forgotten he even had it with him when, after Mass ended and we were heading out the door of the church, he grabbed me and begged to be allowed to go talk to the priest.  We marched back up the aisle and into the vestry, where Father very kindly stopped to talk to us.  The Scientist gave him the picture, explained what it was for, said Merry Christmas, and we were on our way.

The following Saturday, as I sat in the middle of the Church, having just celebrated the Shield Maiden’s Baptism, my eyes wandered over to the elaborate creche set up in front of one of the side altars.  There, very carefully placed in front of the baby Jesus, was the Scientist’s picture.  He noticed it too.  The look of completely sincere happiness on his face was priceless.  Mine, I know, was beaming with pride for my beautiful boy and his love for Christ and His church.  How exactly did I warrant such a wonderful little man?  (Remind me of this post next time I complain about him dragging his feet during…just about every activity I need him to hurry with, OK?)

The Creche

The Creche

DSCN0334

The Scientist’s picture, placed by Father in front of the Infant

