Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Yeah, I don’t do New Year’s Resolutions.  I just don’t.  Never have.  I have a very simple reason for this.  Unlike Scarlett O’Hara, I don’t like the idea of putting things off until tomorrow.  At least, I don’t like putting off changes that need to be made once I realize I need to make them.

Take for instance the standard New Year’s resolution, the one about needing to exercise more.  Now, either you need to or you don’t.  If you need to, I assume it’s for your health, in which case, why wait until the new year?  If you simply want to, for cosmetic reasons, to fit those jeans or to look stunningly awesome at your reunion, well, that’s different.  Start whenever you feel like starting.  But don’t call it a resolution.  A resolution implies that you’ve resolved something, a problem that required a solution.  If the solution is required, then shouldn’t it be acted upon as soon as it is realized?

Another example?  Sorting out one’s finances, saving more money, paying down debt.  Why wait until January first to start any of those?  The list goes on and on.  I don’t know about you, but once I’ve realized, I mean really realized that something I’m doing (or not doing) needs to change, I don’t care what day it is.  It needs to change then.
—-

In response to prompt number 4 in this weeks edition of Mama Kat’s Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Workshop. Head on over and check out the awesomeness.

Mama’s Losin’ It

