Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Since you’re here, reading this, I figure I may as well ask you to also stop by over here, and read this: What Are You Giving Up for…Advent?  You can come back when you’re done.  I’ll wait.  I promise. 🙂

—-

Before I start messing up my spotless kitchen (what?  It’s early.  It’s entirely plausible that the kitchen is still clean) by hauling out all my baking supplies to make pumpkin muffins for tomorrow’s feast, I wanted to take a moment on here to express my thanks for a few things.

Some of you know, and many of you do not know, that my mom was in the hospital this week.  She was brought to the ER on Saturday night because she was exhibiting all the signs of a transient ischemic attack (TIA) or a “mini stroke”.  My family knows a little about these because my dad spent an entire summer going through them when I was young.  These attacks culminated for him in a full on stroke.  We’re still thankful that, for the most part, there was no lasting damage from any of it.  So, when Mom started slurring a couple of words and complaining of a serious headache, she was taken straight to the hospital where she was admitted and spent the next several days being checked out and examined.  Turns out, she’s good.  No lasting damage, no paralysis, no speech issues.  For all of this and for all of the prayers that have been pouring out for us from our friends and family, I am so thankful.

I’m thankful for my family.  All of it.  Yes, even them.  Just kidding.  But seriously, I’m thankful for all of my family, because I know there’s a reason God has placed us in each other’s lives.  Without their constant help over this last year and a half especially, I don’t know what I would have done.

I’m thankful for the little alien that’s squirming around inside my belly all day (and most of the night).  She’s healthy and active, and getting bigger by the day.  She’s already stubborn, so she’ll fit right in with the others.  I’m thankful that the kids are all as excited as the Husband and I are for her to get here.

I’m thankful that, hard as it was to go through last year, we have a little saint in heaven, looking down on us, because we know that’s where she is.  After a year, the sadness has been gradually fading away, and the joy of the reality of her existence has been replacing it.  I miss her, more than I ever thought I could miss someone I’d never met, but I know that any mourning I’m doing is for myself and for what I’m missing out on, not for her.

I’m thankful that the Husband has a job.  Even if it’s a part-time job, and even though it’s basically in the middle of the night, it’s good, honest, hard work and this is something that every man needs as part of his life.  It’s helped us financially, of course, but it’s helped us even more on a spiritual and emotional level I think, and for that, I’m thankful.

I’m thankful that, when the hurricane hit, the most we lost we our power for a few days and some food.  This is a drop in the bucket compared to what so many around us lost.  We still have a home, a car, and all our belongings, not to mention each other.  It’s a wonderful blessing.

I’m thankful that I can homeschool my children.  I’m thankful that we can spend all day together, learning, and just living.  Is every day wonderful and full of learning and fun?  What do you think?  Everyday is, however, full of God’s grace and we have at least the chance to make it that way.

I’m thankful that the great people over at Truth and Charity have, for some unknown reason, decided that they like me, and have given me another place to express my Faith and love for God and His Church.  Shhh.  Don’t tell them I’m not that great and am not entirely sure why they asked me of all people to join them, but I’m so happy they did.

Finally, I’m thankful that this little blog right here has somehow managed to garner a small but faithful following.  I appreciate that you take a few moments most days to check in and see what’s going on here at Le. Rheims and what crazy ramblings are coming out of my mind (and off of my Pinterest boards).

Thanks, everyone.  Happy Thanksgiving!

—-

In response to prompt number 2 in this weeks edition of Mama Kat’s Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Workshop. Head on over and check out the awesomeness.

Mama’s Losin’ It

