Tags

, , , , , ,

Can I just share with you how much fun it is to be constantly poked and pierced for something you may or may not have, just because your doctor is a little bit baffled by your ability to not have repeat gestational diabetes?

Perhaps this calls for a little back story.

I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes while in my third trimester with my second child.  If you’re unfamiliar with this condition it A) has nothing to do with one’s weight; B) has nothing to do with a “family history” of diabetes”; C) usually disappears quickly after one gives birth; D) can be dangerous if not diagnosed and left untreated; E) generally returns with each successive pregnancy once it shows up in the first place.

Here’s what baffles my doctor: after that first, brief, stint, it didn’t come back.  Trust me, he tests me repeatedly throughout each pregnancy, and until now, it has never come back.  Which baffles him and which leads me to wonder, “Why now? What’s changed?”  I think the answer may lie in my taking a drug  that treats my hypothyroidism, which apparently raises one’s blood sugar by about 10 points.  If one is borderline, those 10 points may be enough to push it over the edge.

It could also have to do with the lack of sleep or at least of uninterrupted sleep I have been getting lately, what with the Husband waking up at 2:45 AM to get ready for work.  Quiet as he tries to be, I still wake up.

So here I am, all of a sudden “diabetic”.  And because it involves the health of my preborn child, I’m taking it seriously, however ludicrous I may think it is.

Four times a day, I prick my fingers to test my blood.  So far, every number has been well below the acceptable range,  but recently, with (go figure) the increase of the thyroid medicine), the numbers have been nudging up.  I hate it, but it could be worse.  It could be shots of insulin that I’m injecting myself with, or so I have to remind myself every time I test.  In the grand scheme of things, this is not that bad, so offer it up, Bridgie.

So, pray for me that these numbers stay within the acceptable range, because I really don’t want those insulin shots and I really do want a healthy baby.  Selfish, right?  Let me know if you’ve experienced this  connection between the thyroid drug and the blood sugar, too.  Misery loves company, after all.

