Tags

, , , , ,

Recently, I posted about making Pizza Cupcakes. In that post, I said that I used homemade dough to make the pizzas and was asked for the recipe. Now, I want to say first that I got this recipe from my
brother a few years ago, but where he got it from, I have no idea.  Basically, if this recipe “belongs” to someone, I apologize (although, in my opinion, pizza dough recipes are like patterns for basic garments; who really owns the rights to the basic circle skirt pattern?)
Anywho, on to the recipe!

Basic Pizza Dough

I always use my Kitchenaid stand mixer with the dough hook attachment to make this dough. If you don’t have one, I assume you can make it with any stand mixer and dough hook, but I’m certain you need ti use the dough hook and not the wisk or paddle attachments.  You could also knead it by hand, but, done I’m super lazy, you’d have to figure that one out on your own.

You need:
2 1/4 teaspoons of dry active yeast
1 cup of warm water (between 105-110 degrees)
2 tablespoons of olive oil, plus a little extra for later
2 1/2 – 3 cups of flour
1 tablespoon of sugar
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon garlic powder
Cornmeal

Everything except the water must be at room temperature, or between 60 and 70 degrees. This is very important, especially for the yeast. If it is too cold, it won’t activate. If it is too hot, it will die, a sad, lonely, meaningless death.  Got it?

In the mixer:
1) Dissolve the ROOM TEMPERATURE yeast in the WARM water. It won’t really dissolve as much as it will bloom, and make the eastet all cloudy. This should take about 5 minutes.
2) Add in the olive oil
3) Add in 2 1/2 cups of flour, the salt and the sugar.
4) Mix on medium until it comes together and forms a shiny ball of dough. If it is particularly humid, you will need to add more flour at this point or the dough will be too sticky, but you want to go slowly with this. Add in literally a tablespoon or so at a time until it no longer looks sticky.
This whole mixing step should take about 5 minutes.
5) Pour about a teaspoon of olive oil into a large bowl. Turn dough ball out into bowl and flip it over to coat the whole thing.
6) Let it rest for about 5 minutes.
7) Sprinkle counter with cornmeal and turn dough ball onto it.

Now, use it for whatever pizza ish/ Italian style doughy goodness you are making. This recipe will make 2 “normal” pizzas. I made 12 pizza cupcakes and 4 pizza muffins out of it, but I probably could have stretched it further.

Always be sure to grease whatever you are baking it on, and sprinkle some more cornmeal onto that too, just for good measure, BEFORE you start rolling the dough onto it.

If you are making pizza (pie or cupcake), once you have it rolled out or in the tins, bake it for about 8-10 minutes in a 400 degree oven before putting on the toppings, and then put it back in the hot oven for another 5 minutes or so to melt the cheese.

For a thinner, flatter crust, be sure to aerate the dough once you’ve rolled it onto the pan, poke the heck out of that thing with a fork.

Thanks for reading this overly detailed basic pizza dough recipe. By the by, if you don’t like garlic, leave it out. If you feel adventurous, add in some other seasonings when you add in the dry ingredients.

Now, go make done nummy nummy pizza things!

I’ll add some pictures on Friday or Saturday, next time I make it.  Sorry!

