Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yes, pizza cupcakes, or muffins, or whatever term you prefer.

As long as the name you choose to use conveys the intensely awesome deliciousness of this concoction, it doesn’t matter what you call them.

Perhaps Ooey Gooey Yummy Scrumptious Things?  Whatever.  You get the point.

Mama Kat’s prompt last week, to take something you’ve pinned on Pinterest and actually try it out has spurred me on to trying a few of the things on my 25 boards this week.  Yay!  I was seriously lacking in blogging inspiration these last few weeks (in case you hadn’t noticed).  Something about having a husband who goes to bed at 8:30PM and leaves for work by 3:30AM, a full morning of schoolwork, and an afternoon of household chores, and being you know, seven months pregnant, is leaving me too tired to think most nights.  Go figure.

For dinner on Friday night we (and by we I mean I) made these:

Pizza Cupcakes!

So easy, and in case you couldn’t tell from my description above, so yummy.  The Husband (not to mention a nephew) absolutely adored  them, and three of the five kids ate them all up with no problems.  This is a big deal for us.  We generally have more dissenters than this for our average dinners, so getting a majority of the household to agree on one is awesome.

Basically, you take pizza dough (I used home made because it’s so cheap and easy, why not? but store bought works just as well according to most pinners) and press it into a cupcake or muffin tin.  Try to get it up the sides as well as on the bottom.  I used a cupcake tin for the kids and a muffin tin to make four larger for the Husband and I to eat.

Bake the dough for about 10 minutes at 400 (or for however long and at whatever temperature your your dough instructions tell you) to get a fully cooked crust.  If you skip this step, your crust will always be doughy and will never fully cook.  But, hey, if you like that sort of thing, go for it (pizza dough doesn’t have eggs in it so you shouldn’t get sick from eating it partially cooked).

When it comes out of the oven, spoon some pizza sauce onto each (the amount it totally up to your own preferences; apparently I need to make a couple with less sauce for one of my sons because he really dislikes too much of the “red stuff”).  Again, I used home made because I’m cheap and I can control the amount of oregano (which, when overused,  my husband and I dislike) and garlic.

Sprinkle with shredded cheese.

Stick them back in the oven for about five minutes.  This step is just to heat the sauce and melt the cheese.

When they come out, they should look roughly like this:

And they should taste like pizza heaven.

The Verdict: A Totally Worthy Pin.  I plan on making some extras next week to freeze for either a future dinner or lunch or even just for snacking.  I’m not sure how they’ll work, but I’ve heard good things about it.

So Nummy Nummy

Now, go, try, and share this delicious little take on the personal pizza with all your friends.

