Tags

, , ,

I’m not much of a…what’s that word?

A gamer.

Yeah, that.

It could have something to do with the fact that we weren’t allowed to have a Nintendo or anything like it in our house.  This is of course when I was little, at least.  Our family did have an Atari at one point, but as Dad quickly realized Mom was oh so much better than he at it, that quickly went the way of paddle ball, sports in general, and the recorder.  Anything he wasn’t great at or just not into was somehow not allowed.  Go figure.  One of his small flaws.

I think though, now that I’m a bona fide grown up, with my own place and the ability to set the rules here, that it’s just not something I’m really into.  We have a Wii (got it for Christmas 2010 as a big family gift), but I hardly ever play with it.  I liked Angry Birds for a while, but haven’t touched it in months (much to the chagrin of at least two of my sons who are obsessed with even watching people play it).  I never owned a Gameboy or a DS or any other handheld game playing thing.  Really, something inside me rebels at the idea of interacting more with a machine for entertainment than, say, my friends and family.

That being said, I have a new obsession, and quite frankly, I’m a little frightened by it.  Have you ever played a game called “Bubble Blast”?

No?

Neither had I, until my niece introduced my children to it.  After watching them play it for a while, and being quite bored at my last doctor’s visit, I decided to give it a try.  About a half hour later, I realized that I had completely zoned out to everything else expect that game.  I turned it off, and picked up my book.  After another 15 minutes, I found myself picking up my phone for “just one more game”.  The same thing happened all over again.  This time, I didn’t realize how long I had been playing until the phone started beeping at me because it was about to die.

Where had the time gone?

You’re probably attributing my obsession with this game simply to it’s novelty.  I was too.  Then, it got worse; oh so much worse.

At Mass on Sunday, as I tried my best to listen to Fr. Betty (as I often refer to him because he sounds like Betty from Kung Pow; I don’t know his real name, but I’m 95% sure it isn’t Betty) give a pretty darn good homily on something, I realized I was seeing the little bubbles floating in front of my face.  Seriously.

They were just there, even with my eyes wide open.

It was worse when I closed them to try to make the things disappear.

In my mind, I was playing the game; tapping groups of bubbles to make them pop, rearranging the things on the “screen”.  Oh dear God.

Finally I was able to focus on the rest of Mass, which is good being as it’s kind of a requirement, you know?  I put the bubbles from my mind and focused on Jesus.

What has happened to me?  I’ve never been remotely into gaming and here I am, unable to attend to the homily because these damn bubbles keep popping up (literally) in front of my face.  I’m not sure if I am just that susceptible because of my pregnancy brain, or if this game is just that good.  Either way, I can’t seem to get enough of this game.

Is this normal?  Not sure.

Do I care?  Not sure about that either.

Just need to keep popping those bubbles.  That’ll make everything better, right?

Oh, by the way, cure you Aisleigh for introducing me to this thing in the first place. (And yes that was done, a la Dr. Doofenshmirtz from Phineas and Ferb, first to the sky and all.)

