Tags

, , ,

As you may remember, we started our school year ever-so-slightly earlier than usual this year, in the last week of August, in fact, in the hopes of getting “ahead of the game” before the baby arrives.

About that.

Yeah.

I’m happy to report that most of our weeks have looked like this:

Those little orange check marks next to each thing? That means it was done and done, and on the day it was actually intending for doing. 🙂

However, when one takes into account all of the clinic visits (every three weeks), the ultrasounds (every two weeks), the random tests and chest x-rays, the funeral, and the birthdays, we’ve only managed to complete about three weeks worth of math.  Because a couple of our books didn’t arrive on time, we’re even further behind in those subjects.  It seems no matter what I do, I can’t quite get ahead.

Here’s the funny thing about homeschooling though and the thing that, even as an almost lifelong homeschooler myself, I haven’t quite gotten it into my thick head yet: there is no “on time” in homeschooling.  Really.  Say it with me folks: There is no “on time” in homeschooling.  The reverse is also true: there is no “falling behind” either.  We work at the best pace for the kids (and the teacher), and that means we skip math sometimes (like last week, when mommy had a three hour glucose tolerance test).  It means if the Ninja Monkey really, really, really, no for reals player, really likes phonics, we do six lessons in a day.  Most of all, it means that we can take a day off just to breath when we need to, or when we want to, as long as we’re comfortable with where we are.

And that, my friends, is what homeschooling is all mostly all about.  To quote Seton Home Study’s founder, Dr. Mary Kay Clarke, “Alter the program to fit the child, not the child to fit the program.”  I’d amend it to say, “And take a day off if you need to,” but that’s just me.

