Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

NOTE:  I wrote this a couple of weeks ago, but apparently my pregnancy brain caused me to totally forget about it and so it never got posted.  Oops.  Oh well, enjoy!

—–

Another in my series I like to call, “I’m busy with stuff so I’m finally posting about the fun things we did this summer.”  Sorry!

About five weeks ago at this point, the kids were bugging begging me yet again to make paper airplanes, and I was seriously just bored to tears of making them.  Does that make me a bad mom?  Hmm…oh well.  Just as I was about to slit my wrists with the paper, I remembered a post I had seen on unusual “paper” airplanes over at All for the Boys and I knew I had found my way out of yet another half hour of drudgery.  Thank you, Allison.

Basically, using one 3 x 5 inch index card, some scotch tape, and a straw, you can make a SAFP, or Seriously Awesome Flying Object.  Here’s how:

First, you trim your index card into three 1 x 5 inch strips.

Tape two of these strips together, lengthwise, to form one 1 x 10 inch strip.

Next, tape each of the strips into rings.  Right now, you should have two index card strip rings, one large, the other small.

Finally, lay the straw like so inside the rings, one at either end:

Tape them in place, and you’re done.  That’s right.  I did these with four of my kids.  I saved myself some time and frustration by pre-cutting the index cards, and with that done only the younger two needed any help.

We had so much fun with these, we ended up making extras to share with the cousins.

Here’s a video of them in action. 🙂

