Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Also known as we’re starting school here this morning and I know I won’t have a ton of time to blog this week so I’m finally getting around to posting about some of the awesome things we did this summer.

So, I found this awesome Pinterest board called 100 Days of Summer (’12) sometime in early June I think.  It has so many great ideas for things to do with the kiddies, in both good and not so good weather.  There are things on there for the boys and the girls, things for the preschoolers and the “big kids”, and things that mommy could handle on a daily basis.  We actually managed to do some of these things.  Not all 100 mind you, but a good few.

One of the things we did was to make art smocks out of the Husband’s old undershirts which we decorated using this awesome Sharpie marker tie dye technique from Design Mom.  They used undies (tops and bottoms) and made them all fancy like with neat little designs.  Yeah, I just gave the kids some Sharpies and said “have at it!” and what we ended up with was a fun-filled rainy afternoon and some crazy looking tees.

Basically, you take any plain cotton things, i. e. shirts, napkins, totes, etc, and draw on them using Sharpies.  Afterwards, we used an eye dropped to spread rubbing alcohol on the “designs” (and I use this term loosely), causing the color from the Sharpie to bleed, causing a tie dyed effect.  Once the alcohol is THOROUGHLY DRY, throw them in the dryer on high for 20 minutes.  This is important because alcohol is flammable (in case you had forgotten) and heat and flammable things don’t mix well.  The spin in the dryer seals in the color so it won’t ever wash off.

In case you couldn’t tell, this is the one I made.

Here’s mine and one of the kid’s.

See all my pretty swirl thingies?

We certainly had fun making them, and since we used old undershirts and the Sharpies are things we need anyway, they were pretty cheap.  I’ve seen other instructions for the same basic technique that I think I’m going to try too, such as using small dots of color instead of scribbles, and using a spray bottle for the alcohol to make the bleeding part go faster.  All in all, a fun and successful craft endeavor.  🙂

