Tags

, , , , , , ,

My absolute favorite moment from the Olympics so far…

That’s a hard one.

Who am I kidding?  No, it’s  not.

It’s time for me to come clean to my blog readers: I can’t stand the Olympics.

There, I said it.

My favorite moment so far?  Easy: that moment when I finally manage to steal the remote away from either my Olympics obsessed husband or my equally obsessed son, and flip the channel.  The Olympics simply do nothing for me.

Wait, now that’s not quite true either.  They enrage me.  When I start talking about the Olympics or I hear people telling me how amazing and wonderful and peaceful and exhilarating and blah, blah, blah they are, I go into a full-on tear about them and how they are none of those things to me.  You see, to me, the modern Olympics represent little more than an off-shoot of the entitled mentality that says every kids should get a TROPHY just for participating and that all of us should be happy just to watch the world compete in a peaceful exhibition of skill while at the same time pretending that everyone isn’t  actually sitting at home hoping to hell that their country squashes all the others.  It really upsets me to sit and watch.  What they’re trying to get me to believe is that all sports are equally important and just trying one’s best is enough.  Tell that to the losers.

Am I happy for the individual sportsmen?  Yes, I am.  At least, I am happy for those who compete in real sports.  While I agree that it takes diligence, talent, and athleticism to be a gymnast or a synchronized diver, neither of those people competes in an actual sport.  There can be no room for subjectivity in a real sport, and to say otherwise cheapens the work of those athletes who have truly perfected their games to the point of standing on that top spot on the podium.

So, there you have it: I can’t stand the Olympics.  I will be beyond thrilled when they are over and I can go back to ignoring them for the next two years.

PS: I did enjoy one moment immensely this time.  I have to admit, it was pretty awesome watching Oscar Pistorius run in his first heat and come in second.  But other than that, I can’t stand them.

—-

In response to prompt number 2 in this weeks edition of Mama Kat’s Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Workshop.

Mama’s Losin’ It

