Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Literally.  A couple of weeks ago, I thought it would be a good idea to take the kids off to Howell Living History Farm for the annual Pig Slopping Day.  Yeah, I don’t know what I was thinking either.

I’m pregnant, remember?  This means I have pregnancy nose, a terrible condition where I can smell just about everything, just about 1000 times stronger than normal.  So pleasant.  You see, it generally only makes bad things smell worse and good things smell so strong that you can’t bear to smell them either.

Like peanut butter cups.  Or peanut butter in general.  Oh.  Em.  Gee.  I want to gag if someone comes to close to me after nibbling on a PB&J.

And just forget about things like dirty diapers.  Ugh, gross.

So, it may come as no surprise to any of you that “pig slopping” might be a smelly business.  I had this thought myself, but chose to ignore it in the hopes that I was providing my children with a fun and educational experience.  Plus, we’re reading Charlotte’s Web right now, and I just couldn’t resist the tie in with the book.

Apparently, they’re pigs, until they reach 250 pounds. Then, they’re hogs. Who knew?

Bad idea.

Seriously.

I was only able to be within about five feet of the piggies for about three minutes before the stench forced me to give up.  The good thing though: the boys weren’t all that happy with it either.  When I said it was time for Mommy to move on, they were more than happy to oblige.

All in all, the was actually a success.

I loved the sheep (because I LOVE sheep, always have).

Oh sheepy, oh sheepy, oh sheepy-who! Don’t mind me. I’ve just watched one too many episodes of the Wonder Pets.

They loved the chickens.

These chickens were hilarious, and the kids’ response to them was priceless. Apparently, these weird zebra striped chickens are quite common. News to us, as we are most definitely city-folk.

A peek inside the coop

And we all loved the horses.

She REALLY liked the horses. They were so friendly, and happy to be around people.

So, while we didn’t help the farmer with the pig chores, or even stick around to guess their weights, we did have a great day exploring a little piece of farm history in our home state, not to mention a ton of fun running around in the picnic area, chomping down on apples, cookies, and pretzels, and sharing a few laughs at the water pump.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

