Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Cling to your Faith.
Cling to it
Despite the hard times,
Despite the hatred you may face
Because of it;
Despite:
The unpopular truths you know and believe;
The friends you may lose;
The fun may have to forgo;
The feeling, at times, that it has forsaken you;
The world telling you you are wrong.

Cling to it
And you will find yourself
Repaid;
You will find yourself
Rewarded;
You will find
Your Life
Has meaning
And purpose.

Do not fear what you cannot control.
Instead, trust.
Trust that your faith
Is in the Right;
Is in the One
Who will provide
Despite
Your fears.

In response to prompt number 2 in this weeks edition of Mama Kat’s Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Workshop: “Share a lesson you learned from your Father that still sticks with you to this day.”

The most important thing my father has taught me, continues to teach me, is the importance of our faith.  This is something he taught by both example everyday of his life and by word.  He brought me to Mass everyday, and he insisted on all of us being with him and my mom at Sunday Mass, because he loved us and wanted us to know what we needed to know.  I have seen my father live through times that would have defeated many, such as the deaths of his children and grandchildren and the loss of his home in a fire, and the many other trials that I didn’t see.  Whenever he is asked how he manages to make it through, his response is always the same: by the grace of God.  My father taught me to love my Faith, to learn about it, to live it, and to share it with my every action.  It is something I hope I am doing to the best of my ability, but something I know I do not do as well as he, and something I will spend every day of my life striving to imitate him in.

Mama’s Losin’ It

