Tags

, , , , , , ,

Before I write this post, based on prompt number 5 from this weeks Writer’s Workshop, I should point out that, for most of my time as a student, I was homeschooled.  I spent three years in our parochial school, before being homeschooled from the fourth through the twelfth grades.  I finally went “back to school” for college, where I was a commuter.  Glad we cleared that up.  Now on to the post.

There are a ton of things to not miss about school.  There’s the back pack that weighed a million pounds, the trekking back and forth across campus 50 times a day, and of course the other students and the teachers.  Aside from a handful of professors and classmates that I will love til the day I die and who I fully appreciate for everything they are, I can’t say there’s a lot I miss about going out to school, even in college.  There is, however, one thing I really do miss about the traditional school setting: schedules.  Schedules can make even the worst days completely bearable and oftentimes awesome.

Ah, schedules.  What don’t I love about them?  Well, I don’t love when other people get to decide them for me, but aside from that, not much.  Schedules, by their very nature, mean you have something to do.  It may not be what you wanted to do, but at least you’re not left with ridiculous amounts of time that you must fill on your own.   And when those schedules are filled with things you actually enjoy, they give you something to look forward to.  My schedules, made by me, were generally made to my liking.  On days that were going great, I was egged on in my cheerfulness by the knowledge that my next class would be even better than my last.  On days that weren’t quite so chipper, I knew at least that my next class would be something I enjoyed.  And with a schedule, on those bad days, there’s little time for wallowing.  Best of all, with a schedule, you know what you have time for, and you make time for things that are really important.  In college, because of my scheduling, I attended Mass daily, Adoration weekly, and confession monthly.  Oh yes, I miss schedules.

As a stay at home mom, who homeschools, I still see the benefits of a good schedule.  Does this mean I keep one?  Sometimes, yes.  We have a loose schedule that we base our day around; things like breakfast within a half an hour of waking up, lunch at around 11:30, nap from noon to three, etc.  During the school year, our “schedule” consists of schoolwork, all morning.  It’s a lot harder to keep a schedule when you know there’s no real penalties for not keeping it, but when we stick to it, the benefits far outweigh the costs of needing to do things on a timetable.  Oh yes, I miss schedules most of all.

In response to prompt number 5 in this weeks edition of Mama Kat’s Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Workshop.

Mama’s Losin’ It

