Tags

, , , , , , ,

I know, I know.  I’ve been MIA for the past week or so (really longer if you don’t count the Cop Out Post).  What can I say?  It’s the end of the school year (for us, at least; we’ll be done by the end of next week), the weather has been yucky, and the kids have been sick.  Suffice it to say, I’ve been a little uninclined to spend my evenings up until 2 AM writing when I could be sleeping.

Now that I’m back (and I am), I’ve returned to a dilemma.  I moderate all of my comments.  This is mainly to avoid any questionable language (as this is a primarily family oriented site) or spam.  Generally, I approve everything, even that one about homeschooling that seemed a bit, well, incendiary.  In the long run, a comment that questions my personal choices on things such as schooling doesn’t bother me.  It even gives me a chance to clarify my stance on some things.  Comments like that don’t bother me.  What I can’t tolerate though are outright attacks on my religion.

That’s right.  In my comment inbox the other day was a lovely little rant about how, basically, the Catholic Church (and therefore I as well) is just dead wrong about praying the Rosary and Mary in general.  The whole comment was full of how heathenish it is to recite prayers and “worship” Mary (which any Catholic will tell you we don’t do).  Essentially, the person simply went on and on about how terrible we Catholics are.

So now I’m wondering.  Do I approve the comment and take it for what it is (someone who clearly doesn’t get what I’m about trying to “correct” me) and then ignore it?  Do I approve it and then try to refute it?  Or, do I simply ignore it, delete it, and go about my merry way, knowing that anyone who knows me (or has read my About Me page) knows that I’m a Catholic who is writing about my Catholic faith and life and family, and that I’m never going to stop posting about such papish things as Mary, the Rosary, the Mass, and Catholic (T)tradition (both kinds).  What do you think?  I don’t want to be dishonest by omission, but I also don’t want to post comments that are simply offensive (at least to me and the Catholics who read this).

Weigh in, please, and let me know what you would do.

