Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

That’s right.  Once again, Monday came and I just had no motivation to start the week of school work.  I know, I know.  This will catch up to me, eventually in mid-May when I am still doing Saxon Math everyday in a frantic attempt at finishing up the school year, but for today, I’m not worrying about that.

When I got up around 9ish this morning, because the Husband had finally had enough of the whining children who had apparently had enough sweets during the previous day’s birthday festivities to last a week.  I lolled around in my pajamas until, oh, 2ish, when I decided it was time to act like a grown up and get showered and dressed.  Don’t get me wrong.  It’s not like I did nothing all day.  I mean, I did feed the kids, and refill the sippy cups a couple of times, but yeah, that’s about it.  After realizing there was no hot water (oh the joys of apartment living!) I gave up on the clean part and just got the clothed part done.  Then, you guessed it, I went back to the lollygagging.

Throughout the afternoon, one by one, each kid came up to me.  We sat, we snuggled, we read, we watched some TV.  At one point, we were all snuggling together in what my kids like to call a “snuggle party”.  It’s similar to a tickle party, but with less giggling and more blankets.  It was just one of those days.

I know I say this a lot, but I love homeschooling.  Despite all the frustrations, the hard work, the days when I wonder if they’re picking up anything I’m putting down, it’s days like today when I remember how much I enjoy it.  On a drizzly, nasty day, I didn’t have to bundle them up and send them out the door.  I didn’t even have to bring them to the table and take out the books.  We’ll make up the missed math lesson, and truth be told, we’ll still be done our school year long before most other “regular” school kids (something my MIL, a school nurse who retires in June, is just a teensy bit jealous of).  What we could never make up would be years of missing out on lazy days like this, filled with the sound of rain on the windows, children’s laughter, and plenty of snuggle time.

