Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On a recent drive with the Husband and kids, we decided to turn on the iPod.  As I was driving, the Husband was in charge of selecting the music for me, and, when I couldn’t make up my mind as to what I was in the mood for, he decided to just go with the automatic playlist: Top 25 Most Played.  As the initial sounds of MmmBop began to play, I couldn’t help but smile, and not just because I love this song.  I smiled because, even after 16 years of listening to them, they’re still on the top of my most played list.  Listening to Hanson is just part of my everyday life, and, knowing myself, it will probably still be there in another 16 or another 60 years, and I’m fine with that.

My sister said one day that most people’s musical tastes change as they grow up, until they hit about 17 or 18.  From then on, they listen to the same stuff, over and over again, until they die.  I’m not sure if that’s completely true (hard as it is to believe, I do, in fact listen to more than just Hanson), but it does have that certain air of believability.  Think about it.  What do your parents listen to?  And your in-laws?  Your college professors?  Yeah.  Exactly.  We all hit a point where music really means something to us for the first time, and because of that, we keep going back to that  one group or genre or time period.  Sure, our tastes may expand, and we may find new musical experiences that also satisfy our need to connect with others in the universal language, but most of us always go back to that first love.  For me, it’s Hanson.  For others, it’s the Beetles.  For Dorothy Zbornak, it’s Glenn Miller.

I’m fine with being a Hanson fan.  I’m happy that, at 31, I’m still perfectly content with liking happy, bubblegum music, even if it’s not all I listen to.  Liking Hanson is part of who I am, and my iPod proves it.   As I told my sister the other day (not this sister, but another one), I secretly hope that this blog will get just enough attention that, somehow, I’ll get to meet Hanson in person. (She told me I was crazy, and a bit deranged.  I told her to suck it, I’m amazing.)  Until that time though, I’m going to keep listening to MmmBop (and all their other awesome songs), and know that it’s OK, because everyone else has their MmmBop too (it’s just not as awesome as the real thing).

So, what’s your MmmBop or Hanson?

PS — I apparently also listen to the soundtrack from the first Twilight movie entirely too much, because that, as well as half of the Backyardigans “Born to Play”, a bunch of Michael Buble, and some more Hanson make up the rest of my Top 25.

