Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

So, if you use Saxon like I do, you know how, what’s the word, annoying the meeting can be in the lower grades.  Seriously, between the calendar and the coins and the shape patterns and the weather charting and the counting and the counting and the counting (oh, and did I mention, the counting?) it gets to be a bit time consuming, both during the lesson itself and in terms of prep time on the part of the parent.  There’s not really much one can do to avoid it (short of using a different Math curriculum). Everyday, as the Scientist is busily filling in the date on the meeting strip, I am busily fishing out the appropriate amount of coins, to have them ready for coin cup time.  It’s the one thing I never remember to have ready before we begin.  At the dollar store yesterday though, I think I may have found the solution.  It’s not what I was looking for, but it’s definitely what I needed.

Here it is: the GIANT week-at-a-time pill box.  It’s the supersized version.  I’m not sure how many pills one would need to be on to warrant this thing, but I know exactly why it’s going to be useful for me.  I plan on filling in the week’s worth of coin cup assignments on Friday afternoon or thereabouts and handing it to the Scientist each day with the proper section opened.  Better yet, I could us it as a teaching tool for the initials of the days of the weeks.  I may even throw in a small treat on the Saturday and Sunday blocks as rewards.  Who knows?  I just love the fact that it was $1.00, it’s totally reusable from year to year, and it saves me the frantic search for the correct coinage every morning (if I use it as I intend).

What’s that you say? “But I don’t use Saxon!” I hear ya.  The thing about this is that it can be used in so many ways, especially in Math class and especially in the early years.  The opening and closing of the little boxes helps little hands work on their fine motor skills.  One could easily just put one small item, a treat or a coin or a small toy, inside each and let it serve as an incentive to get it opened.  One could use it for progressive counting lessons, by having one more item in each box than was in the last.  Heck, one could conceivably just use it to store small crafting supplies, like sorted out gems or glitter.  The thing was a dollar.  How one can go wrong with this is beyond me.

So, the super enormous pill box works for me.  What works for you?

