Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

While wasting time on perusing Facebook yesterday evening, I came across this on a friend’s Wall:

The Rules of a Gentleman

Source: Alligator Sunglasses

As the mother to three little boys, it caught my eye.  To be honest, I agree with all of it, even the bits about the drinking and the dressing.  I particularly liked number four.  This list, however, true as it may be, only covers the secular aspects of being a gentleman, and does not, therefore cover all of what I want my boys to be: Catholic gentlemen.  For that, we need to add a few things into the mix.  With this in mind, I came up with a few additional points to add to the above list.

  1. Always respect and defend your mothers, both the one on earth and the one in Heaven.
  2. Go to Mass; do this at least on Sundays, but don’t forget that it’s never a bad day to visit Jesus.
  3. In everything you do, remember that you are not alone.  Behave as if you are in the presence of a whole host of saints, because you are.
  4. Respect nuns.  Offer them your help whenever you see them.
  5. Parish hopping is as bad as dating two girls at the same time.  Don’t do it.
  6. There is no shame in tilting your hat when you pass a church, even if no one else does.
  7. Always leave room for the Holy Spirit when spending time with a lady.
  8. Dressing for Sunday Mass should never involve sneakers.
  9. Rosaries are sacramentals, not jewelry.  Use them to pray, not to accessorize.
  10. Never be ashamed of your faith or your Church.
  11. Remember that the saints should be your best friends, and follow their examples.
  12. There is no such thing as being “fashionably late,” especially when it comes to Mass.
  13. No one is more deserving of your time or efforts than the least fortunate among us.
  14. Defend the right to life in every way possible.  Do so with prayers and actions appropriate to a man of God.
  15. Relying on God’s grace is not a sign of weakness; it is a sign of wisdom and faith.

Are there more things that go into making a Catholic gentleman, absolutely.   I think though that between the first list and my additions, I’ve got a good guideline for helping my little boys to become the type of man I’d love them to be.

Shared at the Hip Homeschool Hop!

