Tags

, , , , , ,

So, I have sick kids.  Not stomach bug sick (thank you Jesus!) but terribly stuffy heads and hacking chest coughs sick, which is still bad.  I’m sure the kids will be fine, but it’s wreaking havoc on the other parts of my life, like this blog.  I should be posting an awesome Works for Me Wednesday post right now, but I’m not.  I’m not, because, after having hardly any sleep last night, I spent the morning getting one whole whopping lesson of math done and then the afternoon at the laundromat.   This left me no time for my trip to the dollar store I had planned for this evening, so there’s nothing to post about on the homeschool gadgets, gizmos, and generally awesome ideas front.   Oh well, motherhood is my real job, and this, much as I love it, is something I do when my kids don’t need me (read: usually after midnight).

That being said, I still have to say something about what works for me in homeschooling.  Today, when the Scientist woke up sounding terrible but was still running around in his usual uber-morning person persona, I called him in to the kitchen to do his schoolwork.  He tried to pull the, “But why?  I’m sick.  I’m not feeling well.  I can’t do schoolwork today!”  To this I responded that, yeah, you’re sick, but you’re not so sick that you’re resting on the couch.  It is my firm belief that, for my kids at least, if they have enough energy to be barreling through my apartment, from end to end, playing one of their million variations of tag, then they have the energy for at least the basics: math and religion.  So, we sat down, got them “done” and he was free to “recuperate” for the rest of the day.  With homeschooling, I can do that.  I can make that call, and if, halfway through the lesson, I realize he is too sick to focus, I can stop right then.  I don’t have to make the key choice at the pivotal moment when the bus is pulling up outside and know that I’m stuck with it or with the hassle of the repercussions of having made the wrong choice, and I like that.  I like knowing that I’m not locked in to a decision I made at 7 AM when things have changed by 10 AM.

So, being in charge of our own schedule works for me.  What works for you?

