Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

So I’m fat.

Like for reals.  I weigh way too much.  I accepted this fact long ago, and I’m comfortable talking about it.  To be precise, I’m a good 50 pounds more than I think is a good weight for me, let alone what the doctors think.  According to most of them, given my height, I should be at least 70 pounds lighter, but then again, they never take into account things that can cause added weight, like, oh I don’t know, a big head and a big chest?  So I’m good with acknowledging the 50 pounds that need to be shed and leaving it at that.

Suffice it to say, I don't look like these girls.

What I’m not good with is actually losing said acknowledged 50 pounds.  See, I hate vegetables.  Well, I shouldn’t say I hate them.  I mean, I don’t really know them all that well.  I’ve never wanted to get all that well acquainted with them.  I mean, they just all look kinda yucky and none of them smell all that good either, and don’t get me started on their textures.  And I’m not all that down with fruit, either.  So for healthy food, I’ve got apples, bananas (those are considered healthy now, right?), corn (shh), potatoes (shh shh), carrots, and chicken.  I mean, I like yogurt well enough, and I love cheese (although that’s not really considered healthy food, is it?). So, when it comes to losing weight, the food thing kinda doesn’t help.

See, they're trying to win me over, being all, "Look how nice we are Bridget! Come try us!" Lies. All lies.

This is why I generally stick to exercise when I decide it’s time to shape up.  In the past, this has worked just fine.  I drink tons of water (all the time), try to avoid full on junk food, and walk on the treadmill every. single. day.  This used to work.  Used to being the key words.  For some reason, I’m guessing age, it hasn’t been working lately.  I walked and walked and walked for 3 months straight last Spring, and do you know how much I lost?  Not an ounce.  I know, right?  That sucks.  I mean, it is the opposite of awesome.  I decided this time, it was time for a change.  In comes Zumba.

I heart Zumba

Zumba is crazy.  It’s a Latin Richard Simmons “Sweatin’ to the Oldies” on crack.  But, by all accounts it works.  This should surprise no one.  What is the main reason most of us give up on work outs?  They’re work.  They’re hard, and not fun, and so mind numbingly boring most of the time.  Richard Simmons was never that.  I used to love dancing to those tapes with (or without) my mom back in the late ’80s/early ’90s.  I can still remember most of the routines and whenever I hear the songs, I automatically start doing them.  And I’m not alone.  So many my age (31) have the same fond memories.  Maybe that’s why Zumba is succeeding where others have failed.  It’s basically a big old dance party.  In your living room.  With fun music and fun, if intense, moves.  You sweat, you feel like a total spaz, you keep going because you don’t want to stop.  Eventually, you feel like less of a spaz.  Then, they add in more songs and you’re back to spaz mode again but you don’t care because you’re enjoying yourself.   Zumba is amazing.

So far, I haven’t even weighed myself.  I have no idea if I’ve lost or not, but I do know this: I have no plans to stop.  I even bought myself new dance sneakers today to avoid Zumba knee (which is real, by the way, and it can seriously hurt if you aren’t careful; comes from all the twisting if you aren’t wearing the right shoes).  I will weigh myself, eventually, but for now I’m happy with the changes I’m seeing in myself and the way I stand a little taller after each session.  If I start to slim down, all the better.  If not, hey, at least I’m having a good time not losing weight, which is more than I could say about those endless miles on the treadmill.

Have you tried Zumba?  Do you love it? Hate it? Have Zumba knee?

