Tags

, , ,

So it’s Tuesday, and today I’ve decided to write an actual how-to post.  It’s nothing fancy, but it sure is sparkly.  Here goes.

Ash Wednesday is tomorrow.  Like, for reals, players.  It’s tomorrow.  As in “tomorning”, as Monkey would say.  This Lent, we’ve (read: I’ve) decided that the Stations of the Cross need to be done by the family on at least a weekly basis.  Now, our parish does offer Stations, ever so generously, once a week, right smack dab in the middle of the day.  We don’t generally get to noon Mass as a family, so noon-thirty Stations probably won’t happen either.  This is a problem if you want your kids to learn the Stations of the Cross.  Here’s my solution.

There are tons, literally a zillion different versions of home based Stations out there.  Just take a look at Pinterest.  I seriously like several of them, but find that they are lacking in the oomph factor that I want.  I want to impress the importance and majesty of this wonderful tradition upon my children, and I want to share it with them.  The Stations are a form of public prayer, and even though we will be saying them at home, I want it to be communal.  It’s hard to be communal with 6 or 7 people when the Stations are too small.  It’s also hard to fit full size stations in my apartment.  Hence, I give you my Stations:

It's taller than the Pirate Princess

It’s taller than the Pirate Princess

It took all evening to make, but it was, I feel, worth it.  It’s not complicated either; just time consuming.  Here’s how we made it.

1) Find coloring pages of the Stations.  I used the ones found on The Domestic Church, but you could use ones from just about any set, or, if you’re particularly artistic, you could draw your own.

2) Color them in.  For added fun, have the kiddies help.  Will they be perfect?  No.  And YES

3) Add GLITTER.  This one isn’t so much a step as a way of life.  The glittery halos do tend to tie all of them together.

The Pirate Princess' Fourth Station

The Pirate Princess’ Fourth Station

 

My usual work space during family craft time. I told you this place was small.

My usual work space during family craft time. I told you this place was small.

4) On the back, write the number and name of each Station.  I made up a quick document that I then printed out, cut up, and glued onto each card.  You can find that here if you want it.

5) Now comes the time consuming part, mainly because I tend to be a little bit of a perfectionist with lines.  I bought a big tri-fold presentation display, arranged all of my pieces, measured, measured again, and finally glued14 pieces of purple construction paper in place for my Stations.  This just seemed to give the whole thing a nicer presentation.  I even put a lovely cross in the middle, and bought the extra header to keep it nice and steady.

That's a yard stick that's being dwarfed on there.

That’s a yard stick that’s being dwarfed on there.

6) Do you love Command hooks?  I love Command hooks.  Especially the tiny ones.  They are hands down the best.  I used 14 of them, placing one above each purple sheet to hang the Stations on.

LOVE these.

LOVE these.

7) Punch a hole in the top of each Station, string a sparkly pipe cleaner through, make a loop, and hang.  That’s it.  It looks like a lot more work than it actually is.

Once it’s done, you have a big set of Stations that folds flat for easy storage.  You also are able to start with all of the names and numbers facing out and the pictures facing in so that you can flip around (and focus on) ONLY the Station you are actually praying.  See?

See how easy it is to focus on just that one Station? I know, right?

See how easy it is to focus on just that one Station?
I know, right?

Want to check out even more ideas for Lenten activities?  Head on over to the Catholic Icing Lenten Link-up!

So now I want to know.  Do you have any awesome Stations (or any other Lenten activity) to share?

