Tags

, , , , , , ,

Seriously?

If you don’t, I don’t want to know you.

(Okay, I still want to know you, but don’t tell me about the granola-hating.  I don’t think I could take it.)

It’s time for another Pinned It, Made It post, and this time it’s about, you guessed it, GRANOLA!  Chewy, delicious, granola bars to be exact.

The Pin: Homedmade Chewy Granola Bars
The Source: Lauren’s Latest
The Gist: Homemade, more natural than not, chewy granola bars
The Verdict: I’d tell you, but my mouth is full with all the yummyness.

While trolling browsing Pinterest a few weeks ago, I found a pin for homemade, chewy, granola bars, and knew I just had to try it.  When the Husband requested a snack that would be good for him and one that would provide him with tons of energy for his new job, I finally had an excuse to buy the mini-chocolate chips and the quick oats (the only ingredients I didn’t have on hand) and make them.

To make these, you need:

1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup honey
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
2 cups quick cooking oats {not rolled oats!}
1 cup crispy rice cereal
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons mini chocolate chips

Mix the oats and rice cereal together in a large bowl and set aside.

The dry, boring stuff. Next time, we’re going to try it with cocoa crispies :)

Line a cookie sheet with sides or a jelly roll pan with parchment paper.  If you don’t have any, you can just spray it lightly with cooking spray, but I prefer the less mess approach of the paper.

In a small saucepan, melt the butter, honey, and brown sugar over medium-high heat and then let it simmer for about two minutes.

First this…

Remove from heat, stir in the vanilla, and then pour over the dry ingredients.

Then this. It’s a weird chemical reaction that happens every time I add in the vanilla. The kids think it’s awesome.

Quickly, pour the whole mixture into the tray and press firmly in place.  Remember, in order for these to stay together, they have to be really packed together.  Then sprinkle with the chocolate chips.

It’s under the 10 pound bag of flour. I promise.

I personally lay another sheet of paper on top of the granola and then another cookie sheet on top of that and then weigh it down with some bags of flour or whatever else I have on hand.

When they’re all cooled (a couple of hours at least), slice them up and store them in plastic baggies.  I keep them in the fridge because I find the cold helps them stay together better, but that’s a matter of preference.

Yummyness in a pan.

Promise the kids that you’ll make a batch for them too, otherwise they may mutiny.

Definitely worth a try.  These are delicious and more or less healthy because really, it’s basically oatmeal and rice crispies, so you can feel way less guilty about eating these than about eating, I don’t know, cookies. :)

